Best 70 Accredited Cardiac Sonography Programs Directory



The Cardiac Sonographer concentrates on using sophisticated ultrasound imaging equipment to perform cardiac and vascular exams on patients of all ages. The following interactive table displays accredited cardiac sonography programs, which can be sorted by state, city, degree. Each training program has detailed contact information such as contact emails and phones. The data is updated in May 2014.


How to Become a Cardiac Sonographer?

It is important to choose CAAHEP accredited cardiac sonography programs if the career goal is to become one of the best Cardiac Sonographers.

Students can choose to complete a degree program with a cardiac concentration or complete a certificate training program which normally has prerequisites, such as having previously earned a Bachelor’s degree or Allied Health degree or being able to claim the minimum job experience in an Allied Health profession.

What to Learn in a Cardiac Sonography Program?

what to learn in cardiac sonography programsCurriculum for cardiac sonography students include courses on cardiac anatomy, ultrasound physics, congenital heart disease, instrumentation, and courses that concentrate on adult, pediatric and/or fetal echocardiography imaging and diagnostic procedures. This is in addition to clinical practicums.

You can contact schools for a more detailed list of courses in cardiac sonography programs

Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer (RDCS)

Students graduating from cardiac sonography schools are immediately ready to take the ARDMS exams to become a Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer (RDCS). However, there are three specialty exams available, and they are adult echocardiography (AE), pediatric echocardiography (FE) and fetal echocardiography (FE). To earn the RDCS credential, students must pass the Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam and at least one of the specialty exams.

States
City
Institute
CAAHEP-Accredited
or/and
ARRT-Recognized
Sonography Program
Degrees
Phone
Contact Email
Contact Name
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences-Little Rock
www.uams.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(501)686-5948
bakeranthonyl@uams.edu
Anthony Baker
Kaiser Permanente School of Allied Health Sciences
www.kpsahs.org
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(510)231-5083
Dorsey.ballow@kp.org
Dorsey.ballow@kp.org
Community Regional Medical Center
www.communitymedical.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(559)459-2731
jguthrie@communitymedical.org
Joy Guthrie
Loma Linda
Loma Linda University
www.llu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(909)558-4416 x 82368
mdelange@llu.edu
Marie DeLange
New Haven
Yale-New Haven Hospital
www.ynhh.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(203)688-8227
carolyn.deleo@ynhh.org
Carolyn J. DeLeo
George Washington University Medical Center
www.gwu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(202)994-8697
(202)994-8697
cismail@email.gwu.edu
Catheeja Ismail
Wilmington
Delaware Technical Community College-Wilmington
www.dtcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(302)765-4588
lillee@christianacare.org
Lily O. Lee
Miami Dade College
www.mdc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(305)237-4245
dsanche1@mdc.edu
Dahlia Sanchez-Suarez
American College for Medical Careers - Orlando
acmc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(407)738-4488
jfrauenhofer@acmc.edu
Jesse Frauenhofer
American College for Medical Careers - Orlando
acmc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(407)738-4488
jfrauenhofer@acmc.edu
Jesse Frauenhofer
Adventist University of Health Sciences
www.adu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(407)303-5733
charlotte.henningsen@adu.edu
Charlotte Henningsen
Delray Beach
Cambridge Institute of Allied Health
www.cambridgehealth.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(561)381-4990
CAbromitis@cambridgehealth.edu
Cynthia Abromitis
Coconut Creek
Broward College
www.broward.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(954)201-2089
khoban@broward.edu
Karen Hoban
Rome
Georgia Northwestern Technical College-Rome
www.gntc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(706)802-5860
nbarnor@gntc.edu
Nee Barnor
Statesboro
Ogeechee Technical College
www.ogeecheetech.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(912)688-6019
twelch@ogeecheetech.edu
Tina Welch
University of Iowa Health Care
www.healthcare.uiowa.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(319)356-4871
stephanie-ellingson@uiowa.edu
Stephanie Ellingson
Des Moines
Mercy College of Health Sciences
www.mchs.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(515)643-6610
astclair@mercydesmoines.org
Adrienne St. Clair
Carterville
John A. Logan College
www.jalc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Associate
(618)985-2828 ext 8622
valerie.newberry@jalc.edu
Valerie Newberry
Palentine
Harper College
www.HarperCollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(847)925-6991
khamontr@harpercollege.edu
Kelly Hamontree
Franciscan St. Anthony Health
www.stanthonymedicalcenter.com
CAAHEP Accredited
(219)757-6132
tracy.bult@franciscanalliance.org
Tracy Bult
Evansville
University of Southern Indiana
www.usi.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(812)464-1994
cfairchi@usi.edu
Claudine Fairchild
Topeka
Washburn University
www.washburn.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(785)670-2293
keith.farwell@washburn.edu
Keith Farwell
University of Kansas Medical Center
www.kumc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(913)588-9690
mchivington@mac.md
Mary Chivington
St. Catharine
St. Catharine College
www.sccky.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(859)336-5082 ext 1332
scraft@sccky.edu
Saretta Craft
Bunker Hill Community College
www.bhcc.mass.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(617)228-2407
mgagnon@bhcc.edu
Michelle Gagnon
Takoma Park
Montgomery College
www.montgomerycollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(240)567-5569
linda.zanin@montgomerycollege.edu
Linda Zanin
Johns Hopkins Hospital
www.hopkinsmedicine.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(410)502-6646
sphill31@jhmi.edu
Sue Phillip
University of Maryland Baltimore County
www.umbc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(443)543-5412
cgiannullo@umbctraining.com
Corinne Giannullo
Baker College of Auburn Hills
www.baker.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(248)276-8243
kathy.moran@baker.edu
Kathleen Groesbeck-Moran
Jackson College
www.jccmi.edu
CAAHEP Accredited ARRT Recognized
Online Program
(517)796-8529
HochCarolA@jccmi.edu
Carol Hoch
Rochester
Mayo Clinic
www.mayoclinic.org
CAAHEP Accredited
(507)538-2948
finstuen.joshua@mayo.edu
Joshua Finstuen
Eagan
Argosy University-Twin Cities Campus
www.argosy.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(651)846-3362
alwhitby@argosy.edu
Amy Whitby
St. Louis
St. Louis Community College-St. Louis
www.stlcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(314)644-9399
banderhub@stlcc.edu
Beth Anderhub
Springfield
Cox College
www.coxhealth.com
CAAHEP Accredited
(417)269-3063
mmaseng@coxcollege.edu
Michelle Masengill
Greenvile
Pitt Community College
www.pittcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Associate
(252)493-7240
hcostanzo@email.pittcc.edu
Heather Costanzo
Winston-Salem
Forsyth Technical Community College
www.forsythtech.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Diploma
(336)757-3313
dwood@forsythtech.edu
David Wood
Winston-Salem
Forsyth Technical Community College
www.forsythtech.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(336)757-3313
dwood@forsythtech.edu
David Wood
Hudson
Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute
www.cccti.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(828)726-2322
khalterman@cccti.edu
Karen Sue Halterman
Smithfield
Johnston Community College
www.johnstoncc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(919)209-2158
godwinc@johnstoncc.edu
Cathy Godwin
Nebraska Methodist College
www.methodistcollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(402)354-7034
Rebecca.Mathiasen@methodistcollege.edu
Rebecca Mathiasen
Paramus
Bergen Community College
www.bergen.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(201)493-5030
chenkel@bergen.edu
Christine Henkel
Scotch Plains
Rutgers, The State Universityof New Jersey - Newark
www.shrp.rutgers.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(908)889-2526
ortst@shrp.rutgers.edu
Stanley Ort
College of Southern Nevada
www.csn.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(702)651-5925
tracy.lopez@csn.edu
Tracy Lopez
Troy
Hudson Valley Community College
www.hvcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(518)629-7706
l.desnoyers@hvcc.edu
Linda Desnoyers
Western Suffolk BOCES
www.wsboces.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(631)261-3730
jthomas@wsboces.org
John Thomas
SUNY Downstate Medical Center
www.downstate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(718)270-7717
Yosefa.pessin@downstate.edu
Yosefa Pessin
Long Island University
www.liu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(718)780-6529
kerry.weinberg@liu.edu
Prof. Kerry Weinberg
Parma
Cuyahoga Community College
www.tri-c.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(216)987-5564
Denise.Kinches@tri-c.edu
Denise Kinches
Cincinnati
Cincinnati State Technical Community College
www.cincinnatistate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(513)569-1421
jacqueline.turner@cincinnatistate.edu
Jackie Turner
Rio Grande
University of Rio Grande / Rio Grande Community College
www.rio.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(740)245-7139
ssaunders@rio.edu
Stephanie Saunders
Rio Grande
University of Rio Grande / Rio Grande Community College
www.rio.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(740)245-7139
ssaunders@rio.edu
Stephanie Saunders
Newark
Central Ohio Technical College
www.cotc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(740)755-7713
mshoen@cotc.edu
Melinda Shoen
Chesapeake
Collins Career Center
www.collins-cc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(740)867-6641 ext 354
runyontr@collins-cc.edu
Tracie Runyo
Kettering
Kettering College of Medical Arts
www.kc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(937)298-3399 x 55656
Susan.Price@kc.edu
Susan Price
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
www.ouhsc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(405)271-6477
kari-boyce@ouhsc.edu
Kari Boyce
Oklahoma State University
www.osuokc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(405)945-3212
slovett@osuokc.edu
Scott Lovett
Thomas Jefferson University
www.jefferson.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(215)503-8724
nandkumar.rawool@jefferson.edu
Nandkumar Rawool
Scranton
Lackawanna College
www.lackawanna.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(570)504-7920
mcdanielss@lackawanna.edu
Stephanie McDaniels
Monroeville
Community College of Allegheny County-Boyce Campus
www.ccac.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(724)325-6731
eanitori@ccac.edu
Eugene Anitori
State College
South Hills School of Business and Technology
www.southhills.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(814)234-7755
paulwagner@southhills.edu
Paul Wagner
Lincoln
Community College of Rhode Island
www.ccri.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(401)333-7440
pcardillo@ccri.edu
Paula Cardillo
Chattanooga
Chattanooga State Community College
www.chattanoogastate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(423)697-3341
jody.hancock@chattanoogastate.edu
Jody Hancock
Cypress
Lone Star College-Cy Fair
www.lonestar.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate,Associate
(832)]482-1016
Jeremi.L.Martin@lonestar.edu
Jeremi Martin
Alvin Community College
www.alvincollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(281)756-5650
jmurphy@alvincollege.edu
Jessica Murphy
Beaumont
Alvin Community College
www.lit.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(409)839-2924
jatinsley@lit.edu
Judy Tinsleyy
Austin Community College
www.austincc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(512)223-5944
ginas@austincc.edu
Regina Swearengin
Corpus Christi
Del Mar College
www.delmar.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
(361)698-2832
khanna@delmar.edu
Kennith Hanna
Seattle University
www.seattleu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(206)296-5957
coffinc@seattleu.edu
Carolyn Coffin
Bellevue
Bellevue College
www.bellevuecollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(425)564-2051
imagingprograms@bellevuecollege.edu
Terry Hatcher
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
www.chs.uwm.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Online Program
(414)229-2230
mitchelc@uwm.edu
Carol Mitchell
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-St. Francis Hospital
www.mywheaton.org/sonography
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(414)647-5711
marc.wojciechowski@WFHC.org
Marc Wojciechowski
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-St. Francis Hospital
www.mywheaton.org/sonography
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
(414)647-5711
marc.wojciechowski@WFHC.org
Marc Wojciechowski
Madison
University of Wisconsin Hospitals & Clinics
www.uwhealth.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(608)263-7635
bwilley@uwhealth.org
Bridgett Willey
Madison
Aurora St Luke's Medical Center
www.aurorahealthcare.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(414)385-7172
christopher.kramer@aurora.org
Christopher Kramer


What Does a Cardiac Sonographer Do?

The Cardiac Sonographer is also called a Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer, Cardiovascular Technician or Cardiovascular Technologist by some employers, depending on the job responsibilities.

The Cardiac Sonographer performs echocardiographic exams by using various types of ultrasound equipment to produce images of the heart and connecting arteries and blood vessels. The images are used for diagnostic purposes. The specialized Diagnostic Medical Sonographer evaluates the images for signs of abnormalities in the cardiac anatomy and function and assesses the related hemodynamics. Through evaluation of the heart structures and blood flow to and from the heart, Cardiac Sonographers provide critical physician support services in the detection of heart disease at various stages or of heart dysfunction. A Cardiac Sonographer will do patient imaging under various conditions that include echocardiograms, transesophageal echocardiograms, treadmill stress testing echocardiograms and so on. The specialized Diagnostic Medical Sonographer works directly with patients doing interviews, discussing medical histories, and explaining imaging procedures.

Salary and Job Outlook of Cardiac Sonographers

In most salary and occupation projections, Cardiac Sonographers are included in statistics for Cardiovascular Technicians and Technologists. The U.S. Department of Labor projects impressive job growth of 30 percent during the years 2012 to 2022. In 2012 there were 51,600 ultrasound specialists employed and that number is projected to grow by 15,700 positions by 2022. As the healthcare industry continues to expand across the nation to accommodate an aging population, Cardiac Sonographer job opportunities could easily exceed projections. | See job openings

The average cardiac sonographer salary as of May 2013 ranged from $27,830 to more than $80,790 annual. This represents an average hourly range of $13.38 to $38.84. The average annual salary for all Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians was $53,050 or $25.51. However, salaries of many Cardiac Sonographers are much more at an average annual salary of $70,000, according to independent salary surveys completed in late 2013 and early 2014. This is an excellent career choice for those who enjoy interacting with a variety of people and want to work in a healthcare setting.

The list of accredited cardiac sonographer schools is continually updated.

To find accredited online sonography schools or accredited training programs in general, vascular or pediatric cardiac sonography, simply visit accredited ultrasound technician school directory and use the interactive chart to search your specialized sonography program.


Speak Your Mind

*