Top 70 Accredited Cardiac Sonography Programs in 2015



The Cardiac Sonographer concentrates on using sophisticated ultrasound imaging equipment to perform cardiac and vascular exams on patients of all ages. The following interactive table displays accredited cardiac sonography programs in 2015, which can be sorted by state, city, degree and school name. Each training program has detailed contact information such as contact emails and phones. The data is updated on 16 January 2015.


How to Become a Cardiac Sonographer?

It is important to choose CAAHEP accredited cardiac sonography programs if the career goal is to become one of the best Cardiac Sonographers.

Students can choose to complete a degree program with a cardiac concentration or complete a certificate training program which normally has prerequisites, such as having previously earned a Bachelor’s degree or Allied Health degree or being able to claim the minimum job experience in an Allied Health profession.

What to Learn in a Cardiac Sonography Program?

what to learn in cardiac sonography programsCurriculum for cardiac sonography students include courses on cardiac anatomy, ultrasound physics, congenital heart disease, instrumentation, and courses that concentrate on adult, pediatric and/or fetal echocardiography imaging and diagnostic procedures. This is in addition to clinical practicums.

You can contact schools for a more detailed list of courses in cardiac sonography programs

Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer (RDCS)

Students graduating from cardiac sonography schools are immediately ready to take the ARDMS exams to become a Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer (RDCS). However, there are three specialty exams available, and they are adult echocardiography (AE), pediatric echocardiography (FE) and fetal echocardiography (FE). To earn the RDCS credential, students must pass the Sonography Principles and Instrumentation (SPI) exam and at least one of the specialty exams.

State

City

Institute

CAAHEP or ARRT

Degree and Concentration

Telephone

Contact Name

Contact Email

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences-Little Rock
www.uams.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(501)686-5948
Anthony Baker
BakerAnthonyL@uams.edu
Community Regional Medical Center
www.communitymedical.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(559)459-2731
Joy Guthrie
jguthrie@communitymedical.org
Kaiser Permanente School of Allied Health Sciences
www.kpsahs.org
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(510)231-5083
Dorsey Ballow
Dorsey.ballow@kp.org
Loma Linda
Loma Linda University
www.llu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(909)558-4416
Marie DeLange
mdelange@llu.edu
New Haven
Yale-New Haven Hospital
www.ynhh.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(203)688-8227
Carolyn J. DeLeo
carolyn.deleo@ynhh.org
Wilmington
Delaware Technical and Community College-Wilmington
www.dtcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(302)765-4588
Lily O. Lee
lillee@christianacare.org
Orlando
American College for Medical Careers-Orlando
acmc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate, Baccalaureate
(407)738-4488
Jesse Frauenhofer
jfrauenhofer@acmc.edu
Coconut Creek
Broward College
www.broward.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(954)201-2089
Karen Hoban
khoban@broward.edu
Delray Beach
Cambridge Institute of Allied Health
www.cambridgehealth.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(561)381-4990
Cynthia Abromitis
CAbromitis@cambridgehealth.edu
Miami Dade College
www.mdc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(305)237-4245
Dahlia Sanchez-Suarez
dsanche1@mdc.edu
Adventist University of Health Sciences
www.adu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(407)303-5733
Charlotte G Henningsen
charlotte.henningsen@adu.edu
Rome
Georgia Northwestern Technical College-Rome
www.gntc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate, Diploma
(706)802-5860
Nee Barnor
nbarnor@gntc.edu
Statesboro
Ogeechee Technical College
www.ogeecheetech.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Diploma
(912)688-6019
Tina Welch
twelch@ogeecheetech.edu
Palatine
Harper College
www.harpercollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(847)925-6991
Kelly Hamontree
khamontr@harpercollege.edu
Carterville
John A. Logan College
www.jalc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(618)985-2828 x 8622
Valerie Newberry
valerienewberry@jalc.edu
Franciscan Saint Anthony Health Crown Point
www.franciscanalliance.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(219)757-6132
Lori Hult
Lori.Hult@franciscanalliance.org
Evansville
University of Southern Indiana
www.usi.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(812)464-1994
Claudine Fairchild
cfairchi@usi.edu
Des Moines
Mercy College of Health Sciences
www.mchs.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(515)643-6610
Adrienne St. Clair
astclair@mercydesmoines.org
University of Iowa Health Care
www.healthcare.uiowa.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(319)356-4871
Stephanie Ellingson
stephanie-ellingson@uiowa.edu
University of Kansas Medical Center-University of Kansas School of Health Professions
www.kumc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(913)588-6802
Candace Spalding
cspaldin@kumc.edu
Topeka
Washburn University
www.washburn.edu
CAAHEP Accredited Program
(Online)
Certificate
(785)670-2293
Keith Farwell
keith.farwell@washburn.edu
St. Catharine
St. Catharine College
www.sccky.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(859)336-5082 x 1332
Saretta Craft
scraft@sccky.edu
Baltimore
Johns Hopkins Hospital
www.hopkinsmedicine.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(443)287-9142
Lindsay Tyson
ltyson5@jhmi.edu
Takoma Park
Montgomery College
www.montgomerycollege.edu/surgtech
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(240)567-5569
Linda Zanin
linda.zanin@montgomerycollege.edu
University of Maryland Baltimore County
www.umbc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(443)543-5412
Corinne Giannullo
cgiannullo@umbctraining.com
Bunker Hill Community College
www.bhcc.mass.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(617)228-3243
Christine Seibert
cmseiber@bhcc.mass.edu
Baker College of Auburn Hills
www.baker.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(248)276-8291
Rita Atikian
rita.atikian@baker.edu
Jackson College
www.jccmi.edu
CAAHEP AccreditedProgram
and ARRT Recognized
(Online)
Associate
(517)796-8494
Stephen Geiersbach
geiersbstephenm@jccmi.edu
Eagan
Argosy University-Twin Cities Campus
www.argosy.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(651)846-3362
Amy Whitby
alwhitby@argosy.edu
Rochester
Mayo Clinic
www.mayoclinic.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Diploma, Baccalaureate
(507)538-2948
Joshua Finstuen
finstuen.joshua@mayo.edu
Springfield
Cox College
www.coxcollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(417)269-3063
Michelle Masengill
mmaseng@coxcollege.edu
St. Louis
St. Louis Community College-St. Louis
www.stlcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(314)644-9399
Beth Anderhub
banderhub@stlcc.edu
Nebraska Methodist College
www.methodistcollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(402)354-7034
Rebecca Mathiasen
rebecca.mathiasen@methodistcollege.edu
College of Southern Nevada
www.csn.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(702)651-5925
Tracy Lopez
tracy.lopez@csn.edu
Paramus
Bergen Community College
www.bergen.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(201)493-5030
Christine Henkel
chenkel@bergen.edu
Newark
Rutgers, The State Universityof New Jersey
www.shrp.rutgers.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(908)889-2521
Cynthia Silkowski
silkowcy@shrp.rutgers.edu
Troy
Hudson Valley Community College
www.hvcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(518)629-7345
Sandra Gepfert
s.gepfert@hvcc.edu
Levittown
Hunter Business School
www.hunterbusinessschool.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Diploma
(631)736-7360
Rosemarie P. Cann
rcann@hunterbusinessschool.edu
Long Island University
www.liu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(718)780-6529
Kerry Weinberg
kerry.weinberg@liu.edu
SUNY Downstate Medical Center
www.downstate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Baccalaureate
(718)270-7717
Yosefa Pessin
Yosefa.pessin@downstate.edu
Western Suffolk BOCES
www.wsboces.org
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(631)261-3730
John Thomas
jthomas@wsboces.org
Hudson
Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute
www.cccti.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(828)726-2322
Karen Sue Halterman
khalterman@cccti.edu
Winston-Salem
Forsyth Technical Community College
www.forsythtech.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate, Diploma
(336)734-7430
John B. Cassell
jcassell@forsythtech.edu
Smithfield
Johnston Community College
www.johnstoncc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(919)209-2158
Cathy Godwin
chgodwin@johnstoncc.edu
Greenville
Pitt Community College
www.pittcc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Associate
(252)493-7240
Heather Costanzo
hcostanzo@email.pittcc.edu
Newark
Central Ohio Technical College
www.cotc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(740)755-7713
Melinda Shoen
mshoen@cotc.edu
Cincinnati
Cincinnati State Technical Community College
www.cincinnatistate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(513)569-1421
Jacqueline Turner
jacqueline.turner@cincinnatistate.edu
Chesapeake
Collins Career Center-Chesapeake
www.collins-cc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(740)867-6641 x 354
Tracie Runyon
runyontr@collins-cc.edu
Cleveland
Cuyahoga Community College
www.tri-c.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(216)987-5564
Denise Kinches
denise.kinches@tri-c.edu
Kettering
Kettering College
www.kc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Baccalaureate
(937)298-3399 x 55656
Susan McLaughlin Price
susan.price@kc.edu
Rio Grande
University of Rio Grande / Rio Grande Community College
www.rio.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate, Diploma
(740)245-7139
Stephanie Saunders
ssaunders@rio.edu
Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City
www.osuokc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(405)945-3212
Scott Lovett
slovett@osuokc.edu
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
www.ouhsc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Baccalaureate
(405)271-8001x43402
Kari Boyce
kari-boyce@ouhsc.edu
Monroeville
Community College of Allegheny County-Boyce Campus
www.ccac.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(724)325-6731
Eugene (Geno) Anitori
eanitori@ccac.edu
Thomas Jefferson University
www.jefferson.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Baccalaureate
(215)503-8724
Nandkumar Rawool
nandkumar.rawool@jefferson.edu
State College
South Hills School of Business and Technology
www.southhills.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate, Diploma
(814)234-7755
Paul Wagner
paulwagner@southhills.edu
Scranton
Lackawanna College
www.lackawanna.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(570)504-7920
Stephanie McDaniels
mcdanielss@lackawanna.edu
Warwick
Community College of Rhode Island
www.ccri.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(401)333-7440
Paula Cardillo
pcardillo@ccri.edu
Chattanooga
Chattanooga State Community College
www.chattanoogastate.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate
(423)697-3341
Jody Hancock
jody.hancock@chattanoogastate.edu
Alvin Community College
www.alvincollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(281)756-5650
Jessica Murphy
jmurphy@alvincollege.edu
Austin Community College
www.austincc.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(512)223-5944
Regina Swearengin
ginas@austincc.edu
Beaumont
Lamar Institute of Technology
www.lit.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Associate
(409)839-2924
Judy Tinsley
jatinsley@lit.edu
Corpus Christi
Del Mar College
www.delmar.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Associate
(361)698-2833
Christin Walker
cwalker17@delmar.edu
Cypress
Lone Star College-Cy Fair
www.lonestar.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Associate
(832)482-1016
Jeremi Martin
Jeremi.L.Martin@lonestar.edu
Bellevue
Bellevue College
www.bellevuecollege.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Associate
(425)564-4193
Terry Hatcher
terry.hatcher@bellevuecollege.edu
Seattle University
www.seattleu.edu
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Baccalaureate
(206)296-5957
Carolyn Coffin
coffinc@seattleu.edu
Aurora St Luke's Medical Center
www.aurorahealthcare.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate
(414)747-4352
Laura Sorenson
laura.sorenson@aurora.org
Madison
University of Wisconsin Hospitals & Clinics
www.uwhealth.org
CAAHEP Accredited
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(608)263-7635
Bridgett Willey
bwilley@uwhealth.org
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
www4.uwm.edu
CAAHEP Accredited Program
(Online)
Baccalaureate
(414)229-6286
Amanda Smith
smith989@uwm.edu
Milwaukee
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-St. Francis Hospital
www.mywheaton.org/sonography
CAAHEP Accredited
and ARRT Recognized
Certificate, Baccalaureate
(414)647-5711
Marc Wojciechowski
marc.wojciechowski@wfhc.org


What Does a Cardiac Sonographer Do?

The Cardiac Sonographer is also called a Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer, Cardiovascular Technician or Cardiovascular Technologist by some employers, depending on the job responsibilities.

The Cardiac Sonographer performs echocardiographic exams by using various types of ultrasound equipment to produce images of the heart and connecting arteries and blood vessels. The images are used for diagnostic purposes. The specialized Diagnostic Medical Sonographer evaluates the images for signs of abnormalities in the cardiac anatomy and function and assesses the related hemodynamics. Through evaluation of the heart structures and blood flow to and from the heart, Cardiac Sonographers provide critical physician support services in the detection of heart disease at various stages or of heart dysfunction. A Cardiac Sonographer will do patient imaging under various conditions that include echocardiograms, transesophageal echocardiograms, treadmill stress testing echocardiograms and so on. The specialized Diagnostic Medical Sonographer works directly with patients doing interviews, discussing medical histories, and explaining imaging procedures.

Salary and Job Outlook of Cardiac Sonographers

In most salary and occupation projections, Cardiac Sonographers are included in statistics for Cardiovascular Technicians and Technologists. The U.S. Department of Labor projects impressive job growth of 30 percent during the years 2012 to 2022. In 2012 there were 51,600 ultrasound specialists employed and that number is projected to grow by 15,700 positions by 2022. As the healthcare industry continues to expand across the nation to accommodate an aging population, Cardiac Sonographer job opportunities could easily exceed projections. | See job openings

The average cardiac sonographer salary as of May 2013 ranged from $27,830 to more than $80,790 annual. This represents an average hourly range of $13.38 to $38.84. The average annual salary for all Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians was $53,050 or $25.51. However, salaries of many Cardiac Sonographers are much more at an average annual salary of $70,000, according to independent salary surveys completed in late 2013 and early 2014. This is an excellent career choice for those who enjoy interacting with a variety of people and want to work in a healthcare setting.

The list of accredited cardiac sonographer schools is continually updated.

To find accredited online sonography schools or accredited training programs in general, vascular or pediatric cardiac sonography, simply visit accredited ultrasound technician school directory and use the interactive chart to search your specialized sonography program in 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>